That day I turned thirty…

Two weeks back I turned 32. Two years back, at this same time, I was very disappointed. I had just turned 30, no fanfares, no ringing bells. Turning 30 was extremely hyped by the media, I realised as I lay on the bed, thinking about how almost a third of my life had passed by without fanfares, without humdrums. And now that it was there, a bleak reality staring me at the face, all I could do was stare back.

The thought of thirty years of an unprecedented life struck my mind but it had been mundane. It was just an ordinary everyday like everyone else’s. There were a few changes I thought I needed to make and I did. Two years now, I think of the amendments I made and I see it has brought me to a whole new level of self.

I brush my teeth twice. This was the first of the changes. Thirty years of stain, all evident on my grinding molars, had to go. I even got a scaling done this year. Now it seems like a fresh pair of teeth that I need to look after and I am. I flash out my even set in pictures without the embarrassment of showing off a part of my thoughtless youth.

I started to eat a regular breakfast. After some point in life, your metabolism goes down and you do not need to be a doctor to get your facts here. I learnt that a healthy breakfast increases your metabolism and yes, it has. I feel rejuvenated every morning after a bowl of cereals, all set to face a new day.

I started to travel more. Now, some would definitely argue at this point. Thirty is not where you begin and I know that. I had taken my time to settle well into the basic groove of life. It is never too late to start and I have. I have made it a point to travel with less gear and more space wherein I can fit everything I learn from making friends during my wandering days. I also write a travelogue to account for what and where of my journey to anywhere.

I have occasionally started to exercise. I say occasionally because the idea of exercise is never motivating for me. I tried an hour of zumba for a few months, a rigorous, tiring regime but I realised I was exhausted by the end of it. I skipped to badminton. I love playing badminton, so an hour on the court breezes away before I realise. I think it is very important to connect with your choice of keeping fit. As long as there is no connection made, the motivation ultimately wears off. I am still playing with borrowed rackets though, scared of my fickle mind, but I think it’s time I buy one soon.

I read more. I was always an avid reader. I love books, the smell of it, the texture of it, and the little prints on it. All these years, knowing my love for books, my friends were gracious enough to gift me lots of it but I never had the time to read. My books were gathering dust and my soul was gathering nonsense from social networking sites. These days, I have made it a compulsory habit to read, online as well as offline.

I married. Hah, I did. After years of courting, almost seven years, I was still in two minds whether it was time to tie myself down to some societal norms. Thirty, Indians would agree, is way par the marriageable age for girls and I was thirty one. There were rumours, there was tension in the family, the famous ‘biological clock’ was dying, he was flustered to be kept on hold, and I was still being the insecure self. The right time was coveted until I realised there is no such thing called the right time. This was just another phrase drilled into us by romantic books and the media. There is no right time as now. As soon as I was enlightened by this line, we exchanged rings and got our papers done.

After two years, seems like much done, much more to do. Well, the list will supposedly not end here and I am sure there will be more in the row. For now, I believe, I am aging more gracefully and growing wisely. I am happy the way things have turned out for me and I look forward to turning 40 now.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/age-old-questions/

6 thoughts on “That day I turned thirty…

Leave a comment